EyeMD EMR Healthcare Systems
Call Now: (877) 2 EYE EMR | (877) 239-3367 REQUEST LIVE DEMO

Client Newswire

MIPS SAFER Guide Requirement for 2022


In performance year (PY) 2022, the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) is requiring Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) eligible clinicians to attest to whether or not they have completed their self-assessment for the High Priority Practices Safety Assurance Factors for EHR Resilience (SAFER) Guides measure.

The SAFER Guides enable healthcare organizations to address electronic health record safety in a variety of areas.

At A Glance: 2022 MIPS SAFER Guide Requirements:

For 2022, MIPS eligible clinicians are required to attest “yes” or “no” to completing an annual self-assessment using only the High Priority Practices guide to satisfy the requirement.

Attesting “yes” signifies a participant has completed the annual self-assessment.

Attesting “no” signifies a participant has not completed the annual self-assessment.

For the 2022 and 2023 performance years, both answers are acceptable. However, leaving the SAFER Guides measure submission blank (e.g., N/A) will result in a score of 0.

For More Information:

For more information on the High Priority Practices SAFER Guides requirements for MIPS eligible clinicians, please click here to view the Medicare Promoting Interoperability Program vs MIPS Promoting Interoperability Performance Category SAFER Guides Requirements infographi c. MIPS eligible clinicians can also reference the MIPS SAFER Guides Fact Sheet here.

Information on the Quality Payment Program can be found at the program website. Information about MIPS eligibility can be found here.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Comment About This Article

Your e-mail address will not be shared and this will not sign you up for any newsletters.